top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Scott Pilgrim by Bryan Lee O'Malley


Rating: 3.5 stars

Type: Graphic Novel

Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Life is written by Bryan Lee, it is a graphic novel series that follows Scott Pilgrim a 23 year old 'rock band' member who recently came out of a breakup with someone I can assume meant a lot to him.

He meets this seventeen year old high schooler named Knives and begins a very awkward, and uncomfortable relationship with her. Until he sees this eccentrically dressed young woman, Ramona skating around his dreams and passing him by at parties, Scott knows what he really wants and its Ramona, but Ramona’s seven evil boyfriends stand between their “true happiness”.

When I heard of Scott Pilgrim, it was the movie version, I was clueless that it was taken from a graphic novel. But around the book community I heard many people talking about this book, so when I was given the opportunity to read this book, I thought it will be amazing! Now don’t get me wrong, it didn’t suck, I just felt rushed and confused.

The action literally started at the end of the novel, that didn’t bug me because I was happy for the story to be built and to understand Scott as a person, but some things that actually did bug me, would have had to been the art, its unique, and reminds me of the chibi art, and some of the characters looked alike in my opinion.

Another thing that bothered me, was the transitioning from reality and into a dream, for example Scott was going to walk his girlfriend Knives to the bus stop, and the next page everything was black and I had to assume it was a dream (because if I didn’t read the back of the novel and just dove in, I would have been very confused and thought it was a black out, or he was hit in the head.)

Other than that, I did have a good laugh, and enjoyed Scott’s personality. I recommend, if you want a quick joyful read, and I will definitely be going on to read the others!

bottom of page